• Home
  • Books
  • In The Year Of The Boar And Jackie Robinson [...

In The Year Of The Boar And Jackie Robinson [Paperback]

Item : In The Year Of The Boar And Jackie Robinson [Paperback]
Price : $8.99 (see below)
Category : Books
Author Author : Bette Bao Lord, Marc Simont
ISBN-10 ISBN-10 : 0064401758
ISBN-13 ISBN-13 : 9780064401753
Publisher Publisher : HarperCollins
Pages Pages : 176
Binding Binding : Paperback
Item ID : 100008140

A timeless classic that will enchant readers who love Jennifer L. Holm and Thanhha Lai, about an immigrant girl inspired by the sport she loves to find her own home team—and to break down any barriers that stand in her way.

Shirley Temple Wong sails from China to America with a heart full of dreams. Her new home is Brooklyn, New York. America is indeed a land full of wonders, but Shirley doesn't know any English, so it's hard to make friends.

Then a miracle happens: baseball! It's 1947, and Jackie Robinson, star of the Brooklyn Dodgers, is a superstar. Suddenly Shirley is playing stickball with her class and following Jackie as he leads the Brooklyn Dodgers to victory after victory.

With her hero smashing assumptions and records on the ball field, Shirley begins to feel that America is truly the land of opportunity—and perhaps has also become her real home.

“This poignant but often outrageously humorous story shows a child’s problems of adjusting to a new country and coming out on top. [The book] is in a league by itself—and Shirley Temple Wong is a winner all the way.”“Lord writes with a warm authenticity and sparkling humor. [Simont’s illustrations] superbly capture the story’s funny moments and its mildly nostalgic mood.”

  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
1.
ShopSpell
$8.99
+ Free Shipping
Total: $8.99
New
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Mar 14 to Mar 16
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
ShopSpell    Add To Cart ($8.99)
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Mar 14 to Mar 16
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
   Add To Cart ($8.99)

Copyright © 2018 - 2021 Shophity, LLC.

  • Payment Methods