Tentacle [Paperback]

Item : Tentacle [Paperback]
Price : $13.99 (see below)
Category : Books
Author Author : Indiana, Rita
ISBN-10 ISBN-10 : 1911508342
ISBN-13 ISBN-13 : 9781911508342
Publisher Publisher : And Other Stories
Pages Pages : 160
Binding Binding : Paperback
Item ID : 102508174

Plucked from her life on the streets of post-apocalyptic Santo Domingo, young maid Acilde Figueroa finds herself at the heart of a voodoo prophecy: only she can travel back in time and save the ocean  and humanity  from disaster. But first she must become the man she always was  with the help of a sacred anemone.Tentacleis an electric novel with a big appetite and a brave vision, plunging headfirst into questions of climate change, technology, Yoruba ritual, queer politics, poverty, sex, colonialism and contemporary art. Bursting with punk energy and lyricism, its a restless, addictive trip:The Tempestmeets the telenovela.An electric tale of apocalypse, sex and time travel from one of the Caribbeans most extraordinary cultural figures. A riotous, exuberant novel Will appeal to readers of Junot Diaz, Juan Pablo Villalobos, Rivers Solomon and Julianne Pachico Initially recommended to And Other Stories by Yuri Herrera as one of the best young writers in Spanish today Playfully takes on gender reassignment, colonialism, environmentalism and the contemporary art world Indiana is an important Caribbean musician and cultural figure From the author of PapiBefore she worked at Esthers house, Acilde sucked dicks at El Mirador, without ever taking off her clothes, under which, her body  with its small breasts and narrow hips  passed for that of a fifteen year-old boy. She had a regular clientele, mostly married men, sixty-ish, whose dicks only perked up in a pretty boys mouth. Shed usually wear a Polo shirt a size too big so shed look even younger and, rather than assiduously pacing the block like her colleagues, shed sit on a bench under an orange lamp light pretending to read a comic. The more disinterested she made her boyish self seem, the more clients she had. Sometimes she took such great pains to come off like a schoolboy out for fresh air, just leaning back on the bench, her legs crossed with a foot on her knee, that shed forget what shlsŒ

  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
1.
ShopSpell
$13.99
+ Free Shipping
Total: $13.99
New
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Aug 13 to Aug 15
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
ShopSpell    Add To Cart ($13.99)
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Aug 13 to Aug 15
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
   Add To Cart ($13.99)

Recommendations

Copyright © 2018 - 2020 Shophity, LLC.

  • Payment Methods