• Home
  • Books
  • Something Like Breathing [Paperback]

Something Like Breathing [Paperback]

Item : Something Like Breathing [Paperback]
Price : $15.99 (see below)
Category : Books
Author Author : Readman, Angela
ISBN-10 ISBN-10 : 191150830X
ISBN-13 ISBN-13 : 9781911508304
Publisher Publisher : And Other Stories
Pages Pages : 256
Binding Binding : Paperback
Item ID : 102532100

Readman weaves a fascinating and decidedly original fairytale.  Lucy Scholes,Financial Times

Its the 1950s, and Lorrie is unimpressed when her family moves to the remote Scottish island where her grandad runs a whisky distillery. She befriends Sylvie, the shy girl next door: The slightest smile from Sylvie was a fluffy elephant at the fair. It had to be won with a clear aim, writes Lorrie. Yet fun-loving Lorrie isnt sure Sylvies is the friendship she wants to win. As the adults around them struggle to keep their lives on an even keel, the two young women are drawn into a series of events that leave the small town wondering who exactly Sylvie is and what strange gift she is hiding.

Readmans feel for emotional nuance and flair for mixing strangeness with poignant detail make this long-awaited debut novel one to savour. Long-awaited debut novel from Costa Short Story Award-winner Remote Scottish island setting and Scotch whisky theme will appeal to heritage readers Atmospheric late 50s/early 60s time period Observant, touching character portrayals will appeal to fans of Helen Dunmore, Kelly Link and Wioletta Greg Unexpected magical elements will appeal to readers of Angela Carter, Camilla Grudova and Muriel Barbery Co-op available National advertising - ads in Bookforum, LitHub, Electric Lit, Granta Magazine, London Review of Books National radio campaign - NPR, East/west coast local stations National print campaign - NYRB, NYT, New Yorker, WSJ, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribun, The Atlantic, etc Online/social media campaign - Targetting well-read literary websites/newsletters. Social media campaign for 20k social media followers + engaged 7k newsletter subscribers Excerpts / author's short stories - targeting Granta, New Yorker, LitHub, Electric Lit, HarpersFriendship blossoms between an enigmatic girl and a whisky distillers granddaughter on a remote Scottish island.Angela Readman is a twice-shortlisted winnerlă÷

  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
  Items Price + Shipping Condition Delivery Seller Info Buying Options
1.
ShopSpell
$15.99
+ Free Shipping
Total: $15.99
New
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Oct 05 to Oct 07
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
ShopSpell    Add To Cart ($15.99)
  • Seller: ShopSpell
  • Ships in: 2 Business day(s)
  • Transit time: 5 Business day(s)
  • Delivery by: Oct 05 to Oct 07
  • Notes: Free Shipping on all Books.
   Add To Cart ($15.99)

Copyright © 2018 - 2020 Shophity, LLC.

  • Payment Methods